Ombré cake

img_1983I had a lot of fun coming up with creative ways to announce my pregnancy so I wanted to do the same to announce if I was having a boy or a girl.

After googling ideas I decided to make a ombré cake with different shades of blue or pink for the cake batter and vanilla frosting on the outside.

We invited our families over for dinner and waited until we cut the cake to let them if we were having a boy or girl.

Whilst the cake looks impressive it is actually really easy to make. For the batter I converted my trusty favourite basic butter cake from the Australian Women’s Weekly Birthday Cookbook. You can find my converted Thermomix recipe on the Recipe Community here.

I divided the batter into four equal parts and added different amounts of food colouring. I started off with the tiniest amount to make a very pale layer and carefully added more to each bowl to make deeper shades of pink or blue.

Once I was happy with the shades of each batter I poured the each batter into a  16″ cake tin (2 at a time as I only had 2 tins the same size) and baked them for 15 minutes.

I then baked the second batch of pink coloured batters and allowed each cake to cool completely.

Then I made the buttercream frosting from the Basic Cookbook and was ready to assemble my ombré cake. The hardest decision was choosing if I wanted the top layer to be the lightest or the darkest. In the end I decided to go from light to dark, top to bottom.

Once all the layers were assembled I iced the sides of the cake (it helps to use a lazy Suzy for this step) and then I iced the top of the cake. I could have tried all sorts of fancy piping to decorate the cake but the inside of the cake was what it was all about so I wanted to keep it simple.

Leave a Reply

