Sugar skull cookies

IMG_8687

As I mentioned in my Macadamia and Parmesan biscuits post I am slightly obsessed with sugar skulls. Years ago I bought this sugar skull cookie cutter set from a gift shop in Leederville. You get buy them online here.

I came across the cookie cutter set again when I was looking for my sugar skull cookie stamp so of course I had to make sugar skull cookies as well! How else can you celebrate Dia de los Muertos (the Mexican Day of the Dead)!

I hopped onto the Recipe Community and searched for a sugar cookie recipe. I chose the Thermomix in Australia because it looked the easiest. Click here to view the recipe.

I rolled out the cookie dough onto my ThermoMat and started cutting my skull shapes out of the dough.

IMG_8679

  Once I had them all on my prepared baking tray I started stamping them with the other side of the cookie cutter. I made sure I pressed firmly and evenly to ensure the whole design was stamped into the cookie.

IMG_0078

I was so happy with how they looked even before baking them for about 10 minutes. I still had royal icing left over from making my ginger-dead biscuits so I divided it up into 5 bowls, reserving a bit more in the one bowl that I wanted to keep white. With the 4 remaining bowls I added a drop of food colouring and half a teaspoon of warm water to make it a bit runnier.

I then handpainted my designs with a set of thin paintbrushes. I could have piped it but I didn’t want to have to wash my piping bag inbetween colours and also had a steadier hand using the painbrush. I even found it quite relaxing :) Move over colouring books for adults, this can be the next trend!

One thought on “Sugar skull cookies

Leave a Reply

