Chocolate cupcakes with dark chocolate frosting 

IMG_8729

I made a batch of fondant pumpkin toppers when I made Spiced Pumpkins Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting. I had plenty left over so I figured why not make some chocolate cupcakes!

This was the perfect chance to try the chocolate cupcake and dark chocolate frosting recipes from the Everyday Cooking for Thermomix Families TM5 recipe chip.

I’m so glad I did because this is now going to be my new signature chocolate cupcake recipe. The recipe for the batter only needs butter, dark chocolate, raw sugar, eggs, plain flour and baking powder. I love baking with such basic ingredients!

And what I love even more is melting chocolate with my Thermomix! Gone are the days where I would melt chocolate in a saucepan over another pan with water constantly stirring over a low heat. Or even worse, the days when I would try to melt chocolate in the microwave and heat it for just one second too long and end up with burnt chocolate. Melting chocolate is such a breeze now :)

Once I had made the batter I filled each cupcake liner with a 1/4 cup of the batter. This was the perfect amount as they rose to be just in line with the cupcake liner. Perfection!

The dark chocolate frosting is even easier to make and only consists of dark chocolate, raw sugar and butter. And I got to melt chocolate with ease again :)

This frosting is another winner. I love to pipe swirls of frosting on my cupcakes and in the past have made mixtures that just wouldn’t hold the shape. This frosting was so easy to work with and holds the shape from piping really well! All I had left to do was press my fondant pumpkins on top of the swirls of frosting and my cupcakes were done :)

You can find the recipe for the cupcakes on page 212 and the dark chocolate frosting on page 168 in the Everyday Cooking for Thermomix Families TM5 cookbook. Don’t have the cookbook? Contact your consultant or purchase your own copy here.

One thought on “Chocolate cupcakes with dark chocolate frosting 

Leave a Reply

