Spiced pumpkin cupcakes

IMG_8731I was flicking through the Cooking for Me and You cookbook and came across the recipe for Spiced Pumpkin Mini-Loaves with Cream Cheese Frosting. I had to use this recipe for Halloween!

I followed the recipe on the recipe chip but instead of baking in mini loaf trays I baked them in a cupcake tray. This recipe made 12 cupcakes.

While waiting for the cupcakes to bake I pulled out my orange fondant (leftover from making a safari cake for my nephew) and rolled out a palm sized amount. I used the pumpkin mini cookie cutter from my Halloween set and cut pumpkin shapes out of my fondant. I left the pumpkin shapes out to harden a bit and then I made the cream cheese frosting from the recipe.

IMG_9719

After the cupcakes had cooled I iced them with the frosting which I had waiting in the fridge and then I topped each cupcake with a fondant pumpkin topper. So easy! And aside from the toppings they make a great savoury break from all the usual sweet Halloween treats :)

Don’t have a copy of the Cooking for Me and You cookbook? Contact your consultant or purchase your own copy here.

2 thoughts on “Spiced pumpkin cupcakes

Leave a Reply

